History :

Indus University is a private sector university located at one of the prime locations in the city of Karachi and it is situated adjacent to a famous cricket ground, National Stadium, Karachi. Initially, it was established as the Indus Institute of Higher Education (IIHE) through a Legislative Act of Sindh Assembly on 28th November 2005 and assented by the Governor of Sindh on 07th January, 2006 by PNBMDC Foundation with an aim to strengthen and improve our country’s role of providing quality education and services which not only would enhance student’s caliber as individual but will improve the scenario of education as a whole. Later on, Indus Institute of Higher Education was upgraded to the status of Indus University and it was awarded the Charter in April 2012 by the Provincial Assembly of Sindh. The Indus University is also recognized by the Higher Education Commission (HEC) and placed in five stars category by the Charter Inspection and Evaluation Committee (CIEC) of the Government of Sindh.

Indus University is playing a significant role in increasing the literacy rate as well as enhancing the capabilities of the youth to be the future leaders of Pakistan. We firmly believe in the mantra of “Learn well to live well” and in order to achieve the stated objective, disciplines namely;

  • Faculty of Management Sciences.
  • Faculty of Engineering, Science & Technology.
  • Faculty of Art and Design.
  • Faculty of Social Sciences.

Are running under the university’s portfolio.

Nevertheless, the phenomenon of globalization has influenced almost every aspect of life. The factors like: burgeoning student population, emphasis on research activities and exposure to outer world have compelled many scholars and researchers to move across the borders and explore new pathways of knowledge. Therefore, foreign collaborations and international linkages seem to be the best alternative in the prevailing situation and many world-renowned Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) have already started to sign Memorandum of Understandings (MoUs) with their foreign counterparts Universities of UK, France, Turkey, Iraq, UAE, Iran, Bangladesh , Sudan, Uganda, Nigeria.